h1

nursing bras

July 21, 2011

The other week I thought I should start investigating nursing bras. My breasts have changed considerably over the pregnancy. I’ve gone from a 32E to a 36FF in “normal” bras. After delivery I know that my cup size may well increase, but at the same time my backsize will decrease. I therefore ordered a Bravado Body Silk and a Carriwell Seamless bra, as these are meant to be multi-size comfortable bras. Think I’m between sizes/used to too much support from my bras and also used to not feeling like I’m wearing over-the-shoulder-boulder-holders/granny bras. They really weren’t for me. (I’d ordered these bras online, now faced posting them back)

So mum and I headed into her local town on Sunday, only to find the store we’d planned to check out bras, didn’t stock them in that store!! (I enjoyed the retail therapy of buying my 5 year old niece a birthday pressie though!) Came back via a village location bra shop where I found a GORGEOUS bra. The Elle Macpherson La Mere bra. The “A frame” that supports the bra when the cup is down for nursing is lacey and doesn’t dig in/flap about. It was truly beautiful. I walked away without one as my size wasn’t in stock (34E needed in this brand and style)

Monday we headed to another town as we had 6/7 stores lined up there. The saga starts!

House of Fraser (we’ll ignore the access!): No longer stocked the Elle Macpherson in store, but stocked Royce. Found a bra that fitted well and looked ok. That is until I tried the drop down cup. It didn’t drop completely. To feed I’d have to drop cup, hoik boob out and boob be compressed for the feeding duration-not ideal at all! Engorgement likely!

Jojo Maman Bebe: Stocked the Elle MacP, but not in my size. Their own brand I couldn’t get anything below a 38″ back to close and then the drop down cup section (single strap not A-frame) didn’t drop away completely again and dug in to the side of my boob big time.

Debenhams: 2 nursing bras in stock, at FLOOR level in the bra section. Not in anything near my size-walked out.

M+S: not floor heigh display, but still minimal choice in sizes. walked out again.

Mothercare: see M+S.

Independant bra shop: Stocked HotMilk. Very comfortable, probably more supportive than the Elle MacP 3 hook vs 2 hook fastening (6 hook adjustability on both). Cotton lined cups (most A frame support) VERY pretty (maybe verging on too fussy in some styles) Size needed in this brand: 34FF. Not in stock, unfortunately.

Exhausting much?!

I have ordered 2 Hotmilk nursing bras from nursingbra-shop which have arrived today. I ordered these 2 as they were reduced (£50 for 2) but have yet to try them on. If they fit, might well be chopping off the rosebuds and diamente detailing-that is after waiting to check they still fit when baby’s here-the shop has a 45 day return policy!! ETA they fit!!! the A frame is less tight on Elle MacP but bra is £10 more-hmm…

Leave a Reply

